2019 winner: Anja Popp

The John Schofield Trust set up the RTS Young Journalist of the Year Award in 1996 in memory of John.


The award, now called the Young Talent of the Year Award, is for the best work during the year by an on or off-screen journalist under the age of 30. The Trust gives a bursary of £1,500 to the winner.

We are thrilled and proud that this year our former mentee, Anja Popp, won the award. The RTS said, "This year saw several new and exciting young voices, but Anja Popp’s work has been quite extraordinary, both on and off camera.  The judges praised the ease with which Popp engages with people she talks to, showing sensitivity and emotional intelligence.  Popp quite clearly has a massive career ahead of her."


Royal Television Society Young Talent of the Year

Immediately after John’s death, his friends and family instigated  the Royal Television Society Young Journalist of the Year bursary, a prestigious award given to the journalist deemed by the RTS judges to have fulfilled their criteria.


Past winners of this award include Faisal Islam (Channel 4 News Economics Editor), Matthew Price (BBC Beyond Today podcast presenter) James Reynolds (BBC correspondent), Hannah Thomas-Peter (Sky News reporter) and, in 2014, Ciaran Jenkins of Channel 4 News.

© 2020 The John Schofield Trust, Charity number:1061065                   Privacy Policy