2017 winner: Waad al-Kateab

Each year the Trust awards a bursary to the winner of the RTS Young Talent of the Year award. The nominees for the award in 2017 were Adam Coel, Waad al-Kateab and James Longman. The Trust offers its huge congratulations to Waad al-Kateab


Waad filmed in war-torn Aleppo whilst it was under siege and attack. She not only won the Young Talent of the Year award but was also part of the team to receive the Independent Award for 'The Last Flower Seller of Aleppo', and the News Coverage – International Award for 'Inside Aleppo'.


The RTS judges said, "With many strong contenders, our winner’s portfolio was head and shoulders above the rest. Her powerful images didn’t flinch from showing the full horror of life and death in Aleppo."


Several of our previous mentors were equally awarded for their journalism. Matt Frei was awarded Television Journalist of the Year, Faisal Islam won Interview of the Year, Lucy Manning was part of the team awarded for Home News Coverage and Sam Taylor received the News Channel of the Year award on behalf of the BBC News Channel. 

Royal Television Society Young Talent of the Year

Immediately after John’s death, his friends and family instigated  the Royal Television Society Young Journalist of the Year bursary, a prestigious award given to the journalist deemed by the RTS judges to have fulfilled their criteria.


Past winners of this award include Faisal Islam (Channel 4 News Economics Editor), Matthew Price (BBC Brussels correspondent) James Reynolds (BBC Tehran correspondent), Hannah Thomas-Peter (Sky News reporter) and, in 2014, Ciaran Jenkins of Channel 4 News.

© 2020 The John Schofield Trust, Charity number:1061065                   Privacy Policy